01-05-2018 07:51:37
01-05-2018 07:58:55
Singapore : Restricted Passport — For Travel Between Singapore and West Malaysia (1972 — 1977)

Expiry date is not explicitly mentioned but deduced from the note on page 2.

Immigration Control at Causeway (1 July 1967) 

Restricted travel documents issued to facilitate travel to West Malaysia:
  • Singapore Restricted Passport
  • Singapore Restricted Certificate of Identity
Passports and travel documents were not required until 1 July 1967 when both Singaporeans and Malaysians had to produce them to enter Singapore. 

The Singapore Restricted Passport Centre was set up in South Quay. It moved to Outram Road in 1976 and closed its doors on 31 December 1994. 

64-page Singapore Restricted Passports (SRPs) were issued in June 1967 to coincide with the launch of immigration control at the causeway only for travel to West Malaysia. 

Due to falling demand and the introduction of the new passport system, the Government decided to abolish the SRPs. SRPs were no longer issued from 1 Jan 1999 and were valid for travel until 31 Dec 1999. A rebate was given for SRPs which were valid beyond 31 Dec 1999. 

This Passport is issued solely to facilitate the movement of the Holder to and from West Malaysia and not valid for travel to and from places other than West Malaysia.

This is a valuable document and must not be altered in any way, nor should it be allowed to fall into the hands of an unauthorised person.

If it is lost or destroyed, the holder should report the fact and circumstances of such loss or destruction to the Immigration Department, Singapore or to the Singapore high Commission in West Malaysia and lodge a report with the local police.

Application for a replacement may be made to the Immigration Department, Singapore or to the Singapore High Commission in West Malaysia where the loss or destruction is reported but a replacement will only be made after exhaustive enquiries.

A passport including particulars of the holder's children is not available for the children's use when travelling alone.

Children who have reached the age of fifteen years require separate passports.