The card has been folded horizontally.
Identification card or certificate of identity was introduced on demand by the German occupying power in May 1941. From April 1944, when the German authorities intensified the struggle against the resistance movement, credentials were required to pass the Lillebæltsbroen (it is a combined rail and road bridge and became the first regular connection between Jutland and Funen. The construction commenced in 1925 and the bridge was opened on May 14, 1935).
From 1 August 1944 all Danes had to be able to show proof of identity. It must be carried all the time.